Rick Riordan Best Books and Series:

No Image
Birth Date: 5 June 1964
Birth Place: San Antonio
Known as: | Richard Russell Riordan, Jr. | | Richard Russell Riordan Jr | | Richard Russell Riordan Junior |
Sex: male
Awards: | Edgar Awards | | Geffen Award | | Anthony Award | | Shamus Award |
Birth date: 5 June 1964
Birth place: San Antonio
Death date: None
Death place: None
Death manner:
Death cause:
Place of burial: None
Time period: None
Unmarried partners:
Native languages:
Writing languages: | English |
All languages: | English |
Political parties:
Member of:
Ethnic groups:
Participant in:
Positions held:
Also known as: | Richard Russell Riordan, Jr. | | Richard Russell Riordan Jr | | Richard Russell Riordan Junior |
Native name: Rick Riordan (English)
Birth name: Richard Russell Riordan (English)
Married name: None
Family name: | Riordan |
Nicknames: | Tío Rick / Uncle Rick (English) |
Official name: None
Copyright: None
Citizenship: | United States of America |
Medical conditions:
Residence: | San Antonio |
Net worth: None
Education: | University of Texas System | | Alamo Heights High School |
Influenced by:
In works:
Described by: | Obalky knih.cz |
Website: | https://rickriordan.com/ | | https://www.readriordan.com/ |
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rick.riordan.author
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/rickriordan/
Youtube: None
Tiktok: None
Twitter: https://twitter.com/camphalfblood
Vk: None
Telegram: None
Work period start: 1990
Work period end: None
Genres: - fantasy -
Work locations: | San Antonio | | San Antonio |
Fields of work:
Occupation: | writer | | novelist | | teacher | | children's writer |
Owner of:
Archives at: | Wittliff collections |

Rick Riordan Biography and Interesting Facts

Richard Russell Riordan Junior (; born June 5, 1964) is an American author. He is known for writing the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, about a teenager named Percy Jackson who discovers he is a son of the Greek god Poseidon. Riordan's books have been translated into forty-two languages and sold more than thirty million copies in the US. 20th Century Fox adapted the first two books of his Percy Jackson series as part of a series of films. His books have spawned related media, such as graphic novels and short story collections. Riordan's first full-length novel was Big Red Tequila, which became the first book in the Tres Navarre series. His big breakthrough was The Lightning Thief (2005), the first novel in the five-volume Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, which placed a group of modern-day adolescents in a Greco-Roman mythological setting. Since then, Riordan has written The Heroes of Olympus, a sequel to the Percy Jackson series; The Kane Chronicles (2010-2012), a trilogy of similar premise focusing on Egyptian mythology; and Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard (2015-2017), again a trilogy of similar premise focusing on Norse mythology. Riordan also helped Scholastic Press develop The 39 Clues series and its spinoffs, and penned its first book, The Maze of Bones (2008). His most recent book is the Daughter of the Deep, published in 2021.

Life and career

Riordan was born and raised in San Antonio, Texas. He graduated from Alamo Heights High School, and first attended the music program at North Texas State University, wanting to be a guitarist. He transferred to the University of Texas at Austin and studied English and History. He received his teaching certification in those subjects from the University of Texas at San Antonio. He taught English and Social Studies for eight years at Presidio Hill School in San Francisco.Rick married Becky Riordan in 1985 on the couple's shared birthday. They have two sons, Haley and Patrick. They moved from San Antonio to Boston in June 2013, in conjunction with older son Haley starting college in Boston.Riordan has created several successful book series. Tres Navarre, an adult mystery series about a Texas private eye, won the Shamus, Anthony, and Edgar Awards.He conceived the idea for the Percy Jackson series as bedtime stories about ancient Greek heroes for his son Haley. Haley had been diagnosed with ADHD and dyslexia, inspiring Riordan to make the titular protagonist hyperactive and dyslexic. Riordan published the first novel in the series, The Lightning Thief, in 2005. Four sequels followed, with the last, The Last Olympian, in 2009. Prior to Percy Jackson, Riordan had written the Tres Navarres series, a series of mystery novels for adult readers.His Percy Jackson and the Olympians series features the titular twelve-year-old who discovers he is the modern-day son of the ancient Greek god Poseidon. Twentieth Century Fox purchased the film rights and released a feature film in 2010. Fo ... Read full biography