Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing
Author: Bob Mortimer Paul Whitehouse
Rating: 4.07
Bestsellers Rate: 9609
Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd
Book Format: Paperback
Binding: Мягкий
Pages: 352
Hours of reading: 5.9 hours
Publication Date: 2021
Languages: | English |
Price: 8,53 €

About the book

The Sunday Times bestseller Two comedy greats talk life, friendship and the joys of fishing... Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse have been friends for 30 years, but when life intervened, what was once a joyous and spontaneous friendship dwindled to the odd phone call or occasional catch up. Then, Glory Be! They were both diagnosed with heart disease and realised that time is short. They'd better spend it fishing... So they dusted off their kits, chucked on their waders and ventured into the achingly beautiful British countryside to fish, rediscover the joys of their friendship and ruminate on some of life's most profound questions, such as: How did we get so old? Where are all the fish? What are your favourite pocket meats? What should we do if we find a corpse? Following the success of the BBC's Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing series, this wonderful book by two lifelong friends is a love letter to the joys of angling, the thrill of the catch and the virtue of having a right daft laff with your mates. On the fish, the equipment, the food, and the locations, Gone Fishing is the perfect book for fans of Bob Mortimer, Paul Whitehouse and for anyone who wants to read a brilliantly written and endlessly funny joint memoir on life, friendship and joys of fishing.

Reviews

None

Quotes

None

Bob Mortimer Biography

Robert Renwick Mortimer (born 23 May 1959) is an English comedian, podcast presenter and actor. He is known for his work with Vic Reeves as part of their Vic and Bob comedy double act, and more recently the Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing series with comedian Paul Whitehouse. He has also appeared on panel shows such as Would I Lie to You? and Taskmaster.

Early life

Mortimer was raised with three brothers in the Linthorpe area of Middlesbrough. His father, a biscuit salesman, died in a car crash when Mortimer was seven. At around the same time, Mortimer accidentally burnt down his family's home with a stray firework. Mortimer attended King's Manor School on the site of Acklam Hall in Acklam, Middlesbrough. His schoolmates included Ali Brownlee, who would go on to become a sports presenter on BBC Tees.He had trials for local professional football club Middlesbrough, and although he was not able to join the club as a professional due to arthritis, he still supports them. He left school with three A-levels and went on to study law at the universities of Sussex and Leicester. There, Mortimer became involved in political causes and the punk movement, starting a band called Dog Dirt. After leaving university with an LLM in Welfare Law, Mortimer moved to London and became a solicitor for Southwark Council. He then moved to a private practice in Peckham, where his work with Public Health Act cases regarding cockroach infestation of council properties led to a local paper dubbing Mortimer "The Cockroach King". According to his autobiography, he was mugged in Peckham by a former client, who apologised after recognising him, and continued to represent the client.

Career

Partnership with Vic Reeves

In 1986, Mortimer went to the Goldsmith's Tavern in New Cross, London, to see a new show by the comedian Vic Reeves. Mortimer was impressed by the performance, particularly the character Tappy Lappy, which was Reeves attempting to tap dance while wearing a Bryan Ferry mask and planks on his feet. Mortimer approached Reeves after the show, and the two began writing material for the next week's show together. They also became good friends and formed a band, the Potter's Wheel. Mortimer began to perform on the show, which was christened Vic Reeves Big Night Out, creating such characters as the Singing Lawyer, Graham Lister, Judge Nutmeg and the Man With the Stick. The show became successful in South London and eventually outgrew Goldsmith's Tavern, moving in 1988 to the Albany Empire in Deptford. Mortimer soon became an integral part of the performance, providing him with a weekly break from his legal work, which had begun to disillusion him.Reeves and Mortimer made their television debut on the short-lived 1989 comedy chat show One Hour with Jonathan Ross, in the game show segment known as "Knock down ginger". Later that year, the duo made their first television pilot together, Vic Reeves Big Night Out. The television show remain ... Read full biography

Authors: Bob Mortimer Paul Whitehouse
Editors:
Translators:
Illustrators:
Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd
Imprint: Blink Publishing
Languages: | English |
Original Language:
ISBN13: 9781788702942
ISBN10: 1788702948
Series:
Reference Edition:
Edition: None
Edition Statement: None
Illustrations: Таблицы
Literature Country: None
Literature Period: None
Book Format: Paperback
Book Binding: Мягкий
Paper: None
Font: None
Pages: 352
Book Weight: 315
Book Dimensions: 129x198x26
Circulation: None
Publication date: May 28, 2020
First Publication Date: None
Publication City/Country: Chichester, United Kingdom

Bestsellers in Autobiography: Arts & Entertainment

View all ...