Jungle : A Harrowing True Story of Adventure, Danger and Survival

Jungle : A Harrowing True Story of Adventure, Danger and Survival
Author: Yossi Ghinsberg
Rating: 3.99
Bestsellers Rate: 35291
Publisher: Summersdale Publishers
Book Format: Paperback
Binding: None
Pages: 320
Hours of reading: 5.3 hours
Publication Date: 2021
Languages: | English |
Price: 9,61 €

About the book

I heard the rustle again, too close and too real to ignore. I clutched the flashlight, stuck my head out of the mosquito net... and found myself face-to-face with a jaguar. Four travelers meet in Bolivia and set off into the heart of the Amazon rainforest to find a hidden tribe and explore places tourists only dream of seeing. But what begins as the adventure of a lifetime quickly deteriorates into a dangerous nightmare. After weeks of wandering in the dense undergrowth the group splits up after disagreements, and Yossi and his friend try to find their own way back without a guide. When a terrible rafting accident separates him from his partner, Yossi is forced to survive for weeks alone against one of the wildest backdrops on the planet. Stranded without a knife, map, or survival training, he must improvise shelter and forage for wild fruit to survive. As his feet begin to rot during raging storms, as he loses all sense of direction, and as he begins to lose all hope, he wonders whether he will make it out of the jungle alive. The basis of an upcoming motion picture starring Daniel Radcliffe, "Jungle" is the incredible story of friendship and the teachings of nature, survival and human fortitude and a terrifying true account that you won't be able to put down.

Reviews

None

Quotes

`Simply breathtaking. Yossi's story of survival haunted me for weeks' -- Bryce Courtenay, author of The Power of One `A thrilling book... One man's amazing adventure' * The Washington Post * `One of those amazing survival stories that almost brings you [to] a cold sweat just from reading it. Once you start you won't put it down' * The Mercury * `A true life adventure book of survival in the Amazonian jungle.' * Publishing News * `To this day, the story is just as thrilling and still has an important lesson about inner strength... Motivating and inspirational - it is hard to put down!' * Bucks Herald Magazine * `an unnerving memoir of an adventure in Bolivia that quickly turned into a tragic struggle for survival' * ABTA Magazine * `the story is frightening, tense and breathtakingly exciting.' * The BH Magazine * `... so captivating... As Ghinsberg introduces us to the colourful life of mochileros (backpackers) in South America, the journal-style writing captures a raw perspective of this ever-popular continent Better still,... * Real Travel magazine: My Favourite Book column * 'A classic real-life adventure story' * The Good Book Guide * 'Nail-biting stuff, ideal for fans of The Beach' * The Bookseller *

Yossi Ghinsberg Biography

Yosseph "Yossi" Ghinsberg (Hebrew: יוסי גינסברג) (25 April 1959) is an Israeli adventurer, author, entrepreneur, humanitarian, and motivational speaker, now based in Byron Bay, Australia. Ghinsberg is most known for his survival story when he was stranded in an uncharted part of the Bolivian Amazon jungle for three weeks in 1981. Ghinsberg's survival story was enacted in the 2017 psychological thriller Jungle, starring Daniel Radcliffe as Yossi Ghinsberg. Ghinsberg's story was also featured in the documentary series I Shouldn't Be Alive on Discovery Channel.Ghinsberg is now a tech-entrepreneur and the founder of the mobile applications Headbox, which integrates all social media activity into one feed, and Blinq, which provides social media and activity live updates.

Amazon travel

After completing his service in the Israeli navy, Ghinsberg, inspired by the book Papillon by Henri Charrière, which detailed that author's experiences as an escaped convict, became determined to find Charrière and ask for his blessing to follow in his footsteps. Ghinsberg had briefly returned from an Africa to Mexico trip and longed for the rainforest immersion experience. He worked several jobs to save the money to travel to South America and dreamed of exploring the uninhabited heart of the Amazon jungle. By the time Ghinsberg was finally able to travel to South America, Charrière had passed away, and the tribes Ghinsberg was interested in discovering had been "civilized". Ghinsberg hitchhiked from Venezuela to Colombia, where he met Marcus Stamm, a teacher from Switzerland, in the midst of his expeditions, and the pair became good friends and traveled together to La Paz, Bolivia. There, Ghinsberg met Karl Ruprechter, a mysterious Austrian who claimed to be a geologist. Ruprechter told Ghinsberg that he was planning an expedition into the uncharted Amazon in Bolivia, in search of gold in a remote, indigenous Tacana village. Ghinsberg, who sought out the opportunity to explore the unexplored areas of the Amazon, immediately joined Ruprechter in his journey, along with two of Ghinsberg's new acquaintances, Marcus Stamm, and Kevin Gale, an American photographer. The four of them, never having had prior contact with each other, delved into a Bolivian adventure seeking gold.22-year-old Ghinsberg and his two friends followed Ruprechter by plane to Apolo, La Paz, and from there traveled down to the Tuichi River and to a local village called Asariamas, at the confluence of rivers Tuichi–Asariamas. There, they restocked food and supplies. Then, according to Karl's stories about having visited an ancient indigenous village hidden deep within the rainforest – inhabited by "primitives" who had seen very few white men in their lifetime – the group began traveling up the Asariamas River and across the mountains on their way there. Eventually, low on supplies, they had to eat monkeys. Stamm refused to eat monkeys and inevitably grew physically weaker. Under these conditi ... Read full biography

Authors: Yossi Ghinsberg
Editors:
Translators:
Illustrators:
Publisher: Summersdale Publishers
Imprint:
Languages: | English |
Original Language:
ISBN13: 9781849538824
ISBN10: 1849538824
Series:
Reference Edition:
Edition: None
Edition Statement: New edition
Illustrations: None
Literature Country: None
Literature Period: None
Book Format: Paperback
Book Binding: None
Paper: None
Font: None
Pages: 320
Book Weight: 227
Book Dimensions: 129x198x25
Circulation: None
Publication date: Aug. 6, 2016
First Publication Date: None
Publication City/Country: Chichester, United Kingdom

Bestsellers in Biography: General

View all ...