Piano Lessons Book One

Piano Lessons Book One
Author: Fanny Waterman Marion Harewood
Rating: 4.22
Bestsellers Rate: 27933
Publisher: Faber Music Ltd
Book Format: Paperback
Binding: None
Pages: 72
Hours of reading: 1.2 hours
Publication Date: 2021
Languages: | English |
Price: 10,36 €

About the book

Piano Lessons Book One is a part of The Waterman/Harewood Piano Series, and includes easy pieces by Purcell, Mozart, Bach, Beethoven and Schumann, as well as a large and indespensible note-learning chart. Piano Lessons Books 1-3 are the central course books of this highly successful piano method aimed at the older beginner. Devised jointly by distinguished authors Dame Fanny Waterman and Marion Harewood, the series is established as one of the foremost piano methods. Technical material is skilfully and imaginatively presented, while each chapter guides the young player towards the successful performance of a comprehensive selection of pieces and studies. The Waterman/Harewood Piano Series has been devised jointly by the world famous piano teacher Fanny Waterman and the co-founder of the Leeds International Piano Competition, Marion Harewood, and is established as one of the foremost piano methods.





Fanny Waterman Biography

Dame Fanny Waterman (22 March 1920 – 20 December 2020) was a British pianist and academic piano teacher, who is particularly known as the founder, chair and artistic director of the Leeds International Piano Competition. She was also president of the Harrogate International Music Festival.

Early life, education and career as pianist

Waterman was born in Leeds to Mary (née Behrmann) and Myer Waterman (né Wasserman), a Russian Jew who had emigrated to England to work as a jeweller. She attended Allerton High School and began to study with Tobias Matthay. She won a scholarship to the Royal College of Music where she studied with Cyril Smith.She started giving public performances, and in 1941 opened the concert season in Leeds with the Leeds Symphony Society. The following year, she appeared at The Proms as one of the soloists playing the Bach Concerto for three harpsichords in C major (BWV 1064), conducted by Sir Adrian Boult, but her concert career was disrupted by the Second World War. She played duos with the violinist Erich Gruenberg.

Leeds International Piano Competition

By the early 1960s, Waterman felt that young British pianists needed a goal to give them a competitive edge over overseas pianists. In 1961, jointly with her pianist friend Marion, Countess of Harewood (later Marion Thorpe), and Roslyn Lyons, she founded the Leeds International Piano Competition. She was artistic director of the competition and, from 1981, chair of the competition jury, holding the posts until 2015. Finalists of the competition who began an international career based on it include Radu Lupu, Murray Perahia, Sunwook Kim, Federico Colli, Eric Lu, András Schiff, Mitsuko Uchida, Lars Vogt and Denis Kozhukhin.She was a jury member for other international piano competitions, including the Tchaikovsky, Chopin, the Horowitz and the Paloma O'Shea International Piano Competition.

Teaching, writing and societies

Waterman's notable students include Paul Crossley, Jonathan Dunsby, Benjamin Frith, Michael Roll and Allan Schiller; Roll won the inaugural Leeds competition and her students were also successful in other international competitions. She held strong views on piano pedagogy in the UK, blaming electronic keyboards, interruptive mobile phones and insufficient discipline for what she perceived as the country's weakness in generating top-class performers.She published a number of piano instruction books. This included the 30-volume Me and My Piano series, which was co-authored with Thorpe, and sold more than 2 million copies worldwide. She co-wrote Piano Competition: The Story of the Leeds with Wendy Thompson (1990). Her autobiography, My Life in Music, was published in 2015.She was Director of the Postgraduate Certificate in Advanced Piano Performance at Leeds College of Music until 2006, and a patron of The Purcell School for Young Musicians. She served as honorary vice-president of the British Society of Women Musicians and honorary ... Read full biography

Authors: Fanny Waterman Marion Harewood
Publisher: Faber Music Ltd
Languages: | English |
Original Language:
ISBN13: 9780571500246
ISBN10: 0571500242
Reference Edition:
Edition: None
Edition Statement: None
Illustrations: None
Literature Country: None
Literature Period: None
Book Format: Paperback
Book Binding: None
Paper: None
Font: None
Pages: 72
Book Weight: 278
Book Dimensions: 228x298x12.7
Circulation: None
Publication date: Jan. 1, 1973
First Publication Date: None
Publication City/Country: London, United Kingdom

Bestsellers in Keyboard Instruments

View all ...