Yes Please

Yes Please
Author: Amy Poehler
Rating: 3.83
Bestsellers Rate: 13461
Publisher: Pan MacMillan
Book Format: Paperback
Binding: Мягкий
Pages: 352
Hours of reading: 5.9 hours
Publication Date: 2021
Languages: | English |
Price: 13,01 €

About the book

The New York Times number one bestseller from the Saturday Night Live and Parks and Recreation star. In Amy Poehler's highly anticipated memoir, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much). Powered by Amy's charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.

Reviews

The funniest, smartest and frankest memoir I've ever read Doug Johnstone, Books of the Year 2014 Herald

Quotes

The funniest, smartest and frankest memoir I've ever read -- Doug Johnstone, Books of the Year 2014 * Herald * Required reading for all young women -- Best Books of 2014 * Huffington Post * A joy . . . [Poehler] has particularly smart advice on how to ignore the internal whispers that give rise to self-loathing; it should be piped into the girls' changing rooms at every secondary school -- Books of the Year 2014 * Evening Standard * [A] bristlingly intelligent, guffaw-out-loud memoir . . . Yes Please isn't a scan of the comedic brain so much as it is something far better-the full exposure of Poehler's funny and very magnanimous heart * Elle * Hilarious . . . wickedly funny and razor sharp * Observer * Yes Please is what happens if you take the wit of Saturday Night Live, sprinkle it with the warmth of Nora Ephron and marinade it in the spirit of the best, most empowering women's magazine . . . Poehler is that rare thing: wise without being bossy, smart without making you feel a bit stupid, funny without making you wince. And her book is like sitting in your kitchen with your best friend, drinking too much wine, laughing, crying and maybe doing embarrassing mum dancing * Harper's Bazaar * Half memoir, half advice column, and 100 percent wisecracking, sharp-as-hell, belly-laugh-making Poehler * GQ * Funny, wise, earnest, honest, spiritually ambitious . . . a smart and funny woman who isn't either of those things all the time and doesn't mind admitting it because she thinks that's important * LA Times * [Amy Poehler] is simply one of the best things about the 21st century so far. . . one of this year's essential reads * Stylist * Ladies and gentlemen, allow me to introduce you to the only book I care about these days: Yes Please by Amy Poehler. Amy Poehler is an American actor, comedian and writer. She is also a mighty force for good... I know you're sick of celebrity memoirs, you're sick of female celebrities talking about feminism, blah blah blah. Well, that's just fine because Poehler's book is so much more than that. Poehler is the only person in the world other than Nora Ephron who can be funny about divorce (and she is so funny about divorce), and she is definitely the only person in the world from whom I will accept sex tips (and her sex tips are great). But most of all, she's super smart -- Hadley Freeman * Guardian * As brilliant and hilarious and adorable as the woman herself * Marie Claire * Life advice, personal anecdotes and a touch of sex all beautifully handled by the warmest US comedy goddess... Actually adorable * Grazia * Our favourite agony aunt. . . Witty, real-life advice * Vogue * A part-memoir, part-manual mashup of inspirational career counsel and laugh-out-loud sex advice * Good Housekeeping * Anyone who loves Amy Poehler's biting comedic style will love the SNL star's autobiography. . . hilarious * Stylist * Poehler's first book of personal stories and advice, in the vein of Tina Fey's Bossypants and Mindy Kaling's Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?. . . One of America's most beloved comics and actresses * The Millions *

Amy Poehler Biography

Amy Poehler (; born September 16, 1971) is an American comedian, actress, writer, producer, and director. After studying improv at Chicago's Second City and ImprovOlympic in the early 1990s, Poehler co-founded the improvisational-comedy troupe Upright Citizens Brigade. The group moved to New York City in 1996 where their act became a half-hour sketch-comedy series on Comedy Central in 1998. Along with other members of the comedy group, Poehler is a founder of the Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre. In 2001, Poehler joined the cast of the NBC sketch-comedy series Saturday Night Live. She became co-anchor of SNL's Weekend Update in 2004 until she left the series in 2008 to star as Leslie Knope in the sitcom Parks and Recreation. She also provided voice acting roles for the films Shrek the Third, Horton Hears a Who!, Free Birds, and Inside Out, and the series The Mighty B!, which she also created. Poehler is an executive producer on the television series Welcome to Sweden, Broad City, Difficult People, Duncanville, Three Busy Debras, and Russian Doll. She was the voice of Eleanor in the live-action/CGI Alvin and the Chipmunks film franchise until 2015, when she was replaced by Kaley Cuoco. In December 2015, Poehler received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame for her contributions to television. She won a Golden Globe Award for Best Actress in a Television Musical or Comedy Series in 2014 and a Critics' Choice Award for Best Actress in a Comedy Series in 2012. She and Tina Fey both won the 2016 Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series for co-hosting Saturday Night Live.

Early life

Poehler was born in Newton, Massachusetts to school teachers Eileen and William Poehler. Poehler credits her father with encouraging her to break social protocols and take risks. She has one younger brother, Greg, who is also a producer and actor. Poehler's ancestry is Irish, along with German, Portuguese, her Irish roots originate from County Sligo and County Cork. Her great-grandmother immigrated from Nova Scotia, Canada to Boston in the late 1800s. She was raised as a Catholic.Poehler grew up in nearby Burlington, Massachusetts, which she describes as a blue-collar town. Her favorite performers and influences included sketch comedians Carol Burnett, Gilda Radner, and Catherine O'Hara. When she was 10 years old, Poehler played Dorothy Gale in her school's production of L. Frank Baum's The Wizard of Oz. The experience inspired Poehler's love of performing. Poehler continued acting in school plays at Burlington High School. She also participated in other activities during her time in high school including student council, soccer, and softball. After graduating from high school in 1989, she enrolled at Boston College. During college, Poehler became a member of the improv comedy troupe My Mother's Fleabag. She graduated from Boston College with a bachelor's degree in media and communications in 1993.

Career

Improv and U ... Read full biography

Authors: Amy Poehler
Editors:
Translators:
Illustrators:
Publisher: Pan MacMillan
Imprint: PICADOR
Languages: | English |
Original Language:
ISBN13: 9781447283317
ISBN10: 1447283317
Series:
Reference Edition:
Edition: None
Edition Statement: Main Market Ed
Illustrations: Таблицы
Literature Country: None
Literature Period: None
Book Format: Paperback
Book Binding: Мягкий
Paper: None
Font: None
Pages: 352
Book Weight: 636
Book Dimensions: 132x197x23
Circulation: None
Publication date: June 18, 2015
First Publication Date: None
Publication City/Country: London, United Kingdom

Bestsellers in Biography: General

View all ...