Not That Kind of Girl : A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned"

Not That Kind of Girl : A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned"
Author: LENA DUNHAM
Rating: 3.29
Bestsellers Rate: 88888
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Book Format: Paperback
Binding: None
Pages: 288
Hours of reading: 4.8 hours
Publication Date: 2021
Languages: | English |
Price: 10,16 €

About the book

For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, poignant, and extremely frank collection of personal essays confirms Lena Dunham - the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO's 'Girls' - as one of the brightest and most original writers working today. "If I could take what I've learned and make one menial job easier for you, or prevent you from having the kind of sex where you feel you must keep your sneakers on in case you want to run away during the act, then every misstep of mine was worthwhile. I'm already predicting my future shame at thinking I had anything to offer you, but also my future glory in having stopped you from trying an expensive juice cleanse or thinking that it was your fault when the person you are dating suddenly backs away, intimidated by the clarity of your personal mission here on earth. No, I am not a sexpert, a psychologist, or a dietician. I am not a mother of three or the owner of a successful hosiery franchise. But I am a girl with a keen interest in having it all, and what follows are hopeful dispatches from the frontlines of that struggle."

Reviews

None

Quotes

'It's not Lena Dunham's candour that makes me gasp. Rather, it's her writing - which is full of surprises where you least expect them. This is a fine, subversive book' David Sedaris 'Always funny, sometimes wrenching, these essays are a testament to the creative wonder that is Lena Dunham' Judy Blume 'Dunham's writing is just as smart, honest, sophisticated, dangerous, and charming as her work on 'Girls'. Its essential quality is a kind of joyful super-awareness: of herself, the world, the human. Reading her makes you glad to be in the world, and glad that she's in it with you' George Saunders 'Very few women have become famous for being who they actually are, nuanced and imperfect. When honesty happens, it's usually couched in self-ridicule or self-help. Dunham doesn't apologise like that - she simply tells her story as if it might be interesting. The result is shocking and radical because it is utterly familiar. 'Not That Kind of Girl' is hilarious, artful, and staggeringly intimate; I read it shivering with recognition' Miranda July 'Frank, fearless and funny ... made me want to cry out with thanks that a talented, intelligent woman has said and done worse things than I have and is repeating them without a scrap of shame ... 'Not That Kind of Girl' is funny, empowering and as good a millennial guide for navigating and laughing at your foggy adolescence and murky twenties as there can be. I only wish it had been around earlier' Sunday Times 'I love Lena's book ... more shocking than I was expecting, sadder and more beautiful - anyway; within a few pages ... I'm charmed, anxious, furious and totally committed' Nina Stibbe, Observer 'Very funny ... and imbues the gloom with hope ... "Having it all" need not mean hitting narrow markers of success - the perfect job/man/body - but instead being able to own your experiences: the good, the bad, the ugly. All of it' Independent 'Dunham's first book is seldom less than very funny' Iona McLaren, Sunday Telegraph

LENA DUNHAM Biography

Lena Dunham is the creator of the critically acclaimed HBO series Girls, for which she also serves as executive producer, writer, and director. She has been nominated for eight Emmy awards and has won two Golden Globes, including Best Actress, for her work on Girls. She was the first woman to win the Directors Guild of America award for directorial achievement in comedy. Dunham has also written and directed two feature-length films (including Tiny Furniture in 2010) and is a frequent contributor to The New Yorker. She lives and works in Brooklyn, New York.   Joana Avillez is an illustrator and the author of Life Dressing, a tale of two women who live to dress and dress to live. Her artwork has been featured in The New York Times, New York, and The Wall Street Journal. ... Read full biography

Authors: LENA DUNHAM
Editors:
Translators:
Illustrators:
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint: FOURTH ESTATE LTD
Languages: | English |
Original Language:
ISBN13: 9780007515547
ISBN10: 0007515545
Series:
Reference Edition:
Edition: None
Edition Statement: None
Illustrations: None
Literature Country: None
Literature Period: None
Book Format: Paperback
Book Binding: None
Paper: None
Font: None
Pages: 288
Book Weight: 270
Book Dimensions: 129x198x21
Circulation: None
Publication date: July 13, 2015
First Publication Date: None
Publication City/Country: London, United Kingdom

Bestsellers in Biography: Arts & Entertainment

View all ...